Towards well below 2°C?

Every year, the Conference of Parties (COP) takes place: it is the climate conference of the United Nations, where the delegations of the states try to achieve a common progress in the global climate politics. In 2015, the Paris Agreement adopted at COP21 defined the commitment to limit global temperature rise until the end of this century to “well below 2°C” [by the end of this century in respect of pre-industrial levels] , and aiming for 1.5°C. It was viewed as a success, because it was signed by all UN-countries in a common effort to tackle climate change. However, there are several points of criticism to it: 2 degrees are reputed to be insufficient to avoid dangerous warming according to scientific sources ( 1,2,3 )
, the agreement is legally binding, but there are no sanctions if it is violated and it lacks an effective implementation or supervision plan (4) Until 2018, common standards to implement the Paris Agreement should be finalized. Moreover, each country should outline and communicate their updated commitments (NDCs, Nationally Determined Contributions) for post-2020 climate actions In 2023 progress should be assessed. At present, we are running late on the schedule, or sometimes going in the wrong direction altogether [Business as Usual emission scenarios (IPCC)] . Although climate negotiations have been taking place for over 20 years, with both successes as well as failures (Copenhagen Conference in 2009),the outcomes have been neither sufficient nor fast enough to halt further global warming and its effects.

YOUNGO - youth in action!

The official youth constituency to the UNFCCC brings together a global network of groups and individuals identifying themselves as youth and raise their voice on climate change. During COPs, members of YOUNGO lobby for policies, deliver speeches, participate in actions, blog and engage on social media and interact with the secretariat. They also keep an overview of what is happening in climate negotiations and whether climate policies discussed are on track. The work is organised in working groups, e.g. policy, and subgroups, in this case ranging from adaptation to finance, gender or human rights. Every morning at COP, YOUNGO has a council meeting to share information and take decisions. During COP11 in 2005, young people started to get organized for the first time. Since then, the Conference of Youth has taken place annually and the International Climate Youth Movement has been an advocate for youth at negotiations. In 2009, this movement received formal representation through YOUNGO. Being an observer constituency, it cannot vote but has the power to represent youth in meetings with officials or in climate negotiations.

Climate politics in 2018 - COP24

What will happen now? The responsibility to develop the next steps in climate policy lies with the COP 24 taking place this year in Katowice, Poland. There is much skepticism on the ability of Poland to successfully guide the negotiations: its government endorses an energy policy based on (“clean”) coal. Also, the conference will take place in Silesia, one of the most productive mining regions in Europe. One more reason more to raise our voices through an LCOY to contribute to more ambitious climate agreements! More information on the last COP und COY: http://klimareporter.in/category/cop23-bonn/ (German)

Deutlich unter 2°C?

Jedes Jahr findet die UN-Klimakonferenz (COP) statt, bei der Delegationen aller Staaten versuchen, einen gemeinsamen Fortschritt in der globalen Klimapolitik zu erreichen. Im Dezember 2015 bekannten sich die Regierungen der Welt im Pariser Klimaabkommen der damaligen Klimakonferenz zur Begrenzung der Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter 2°C [bis 2100, verglichen mit 1990] , wobei 1,5°C angestrebt werden. Der Vertrag wurde als ein großer Erfolg gefeiert, weil er von allen UN-Ländern vereinbart wurde. Es gibt allerdings viel Kritik: laut wissenschaftlichen Studien ( 1,2,3 )
könnte er nicht ausreichen, um Risikosituationen zu vermeiden; noch dazu ist das Abkommen zwar völkerrechtlich bindend, aber ein Verstoß wird nicht sanktioniert und es mangelt an einem effektiven Kontrollplan (4) Bis 2018 sollten unter dem Pariser Vertrag gemeinsame Standards erarbeitet, bis 2020 neue Beiträge (Nationally Determined Contributions) der Staaten gesetzt und 2023 die Fortschritte überprüft werden. Im Moment hinkt man dem Zeitplan hinterher, oder läuft komplett in die Gegenrichtung [Business as Usual emission scenarios (IPCC)] . Obwohl Klimakonferenzen der UN-Klimarahmenkonvention schon seit 20 Jahren durchgeführt werden, mit Erfolgen sowie Misserfolgen (siehe die Konferenz von Kopenhagen 2009) waren die bisherigen Resultate weder hinreichend noch schnell genug, um den weiteren Klimawandel und seine Auswirkungen anzuhalten.

YOUNGO - Jugend bewegt!

Die offiziellen Jugendvertretung der Klimarahmenkonvention bei Verhandlungen schafft ein globales Netzwerk an Gruppen und individuellen Personen, die sich als Jugend identifizieren und ihre Stimme zum Klimawandel erheben. Während COPs lobbyieren YOUNGO Mitglieder für ambitioniertere Politik, halten Reden, nehmen an Aktionen teil, bloggen und sind aktiv auf Social Media und sind in Kontakt mit dem Sekretariat. Sie behalten auch einen Überblick von dem , was in den Klimaverhandlungen passiert und ob die besprochenen Maßnahmen zum Klima auf den richtigen Weg führen. Die Arbeit ist in Arbeits- und Untergruppen organisiert, z.B. politische Maßnahmen mit Fokus auf Menschenrechte, Gender, Finanzierung oder Wasser. Jeden Morgen bei einer COP treffen sich Mitglieder, um Informationen auszutauschen und Entscheidungen zu treffen. Während der COP11 in 2005 begannen junge Menschen zum ersten Mal, sich zu organisieren. Seitdem findet die Conference of Youth jährlich statt und das International Climate Youth Movement (Internationale Jugendklimabewegung) setzt dich bei Verhandlungen für die Jugend ein. In 2009 wurde dieser Bewegung eine formale Vertretung durch YOUNGO zuerkannt. Als eine Organisation mit Beobachterstatus kann YOUNGO nicht abstimmen, dafür aber die Jugend in Treffen mit Beamten und Klimaverhandlungen dank Rederecht vertreten.

Klimapolitik in 2018 - die COP24

Was passiert nun? Die Verantwortung der Konkretisierung der nächsten Schritte liegt nun bei der diesjährigen COP 24 in Katowice, Polen. Es gibt Skepsis, ob Polen die Konferenz zum Erfolg führen wird, da die Regierung den Fokus von Klimapolitik auf (“saubere”) Kohle setzt und die Konferenz in Schlesien, einer Kohleabbau-Region mit langer Geschichte abgehalten wird. Ein Grund mehr, mit einer LCOY die Stimme für ambitionierte Klimapolitik zu heben! Mehr Informationen zur letzten COP und COY http://klimareporter.in/category/cop23-bonn/