Responsive image
Card image cap
Nina

I study biology at the University of Vienna. I couldn’t have chosen it better! Understanding ecosystems and evolution and learning about the chemical structures of life amazes me. Once you learn to understand how things are connected, you realise that the actions taken in climate politics are inconsequent and you start questioning if more could be done. I’m sure about that now. We, the youth, have plenty of potential, eagerness and motivation. Together, we can strive for progress. That is exactly what we will do at LCOY Austria and I’m looking forward to it!

Card image cap
Adriana

I’m currently finishing my studies in Environment and Bioresources Management at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences and am specifically interested in the topic of climate and energy politics. I am fascinated by the ways people respond to climate change around the world and the potential there is in Austria. Climate change is a most pressing problem for me and one that I care about the most. For this reason I want to put my energy into it and am very enthusiastic about the organization of this conference. I can’t live without writing, art and sunrises in nature. If sometimes disappear for a moment, then I’m moving around the city of nature, singing, dancing, drawing or just enjoying a good book.

Card image cap
Hendrik

I study biology with a focus on ecology at the University of Vienna with the aim of getting a grip on the complexity of the living world. I started exploring my surrounding nature in the early childhood and kept on doing so. I wish for the generations after us to be able to do the same! That’s why I’m combining my main studies with courses and events concerning environmental politics and economics, and engaging in climate action. Beside all of this, I’m spending a fair amount of time outside climbing, swimming, and just fooling around. Besides that I’m active in foodsaving, and CO2-neutral traveling by thumbing. We are the generation that’ll be affected strongest by climate change. But we are also the generation that’s able to take action against it. Join us in finding out how!

Card image cap
Rebecca

I study physics at the Technical University of Vienna because I love to understand why the world appears to be as is and how crazy everything is in truth! I am passionate about nature and people, especially understanding the way societies and individuals think. To me, the climate crisis the most urgent, dangerous and worst communicated phenomena of our times, and I believe the solution lies in communal action as we strive for climate justice and an equanimous world. If you don´t know where I am, you´ll probably find me somewhere in the mountains hiking, climbing, slacklining, cuddling some animal on the way or scuba diving. I practice yoga and meditation and I stubbornly believe in the potential of every human to be wonderful.

Card image cap
Katja

After my studies in Environment and Bio-Resources Management at BOKU University I just started an international master program in Environmental Science. I want to focus my studies on environmental management and environmental politics in order to enable future generations to do what I loved most during my childhood: to experience and enjoy nature with all four seasons. In general, I want to contribute to creating a platform that allows people of all backgrounds to access information on climate change as an issue concerning us all. Even today, I prefer to spend my leisure time in nature, during summer I like to go hiking and climbing and in winter I like to do ski touring and teach skiing. I am convinced that there are many young, motivated people who are passionate about making change happen. It is in our hands to change the future!

Responsive image
Card image cap
Nina

Ich bin Biologiestudentin an der Uni Wien und kann mir kein passenderes Studium vorstellen. Zu verstehen, wie Ökosysteme oder Evolution funktionieren, und über die chemischen Grundlagen des Lebens zu lernen macht mir großen Spaß. Wenn man Zusammenhänge verstehen lernt, erscheint einem vieles unlogisch, was auf klimapolitischer Ebene passiert und man beginnt zu hinterfragen, ob nicht mehr machbar wäre. Mittlerweile bin ich davon überzeugt. Vor allem in uns jungen Menschen steckt unheimlich viel Potential, Wille und Energie. Zusammen können wir allerhand erreichen und vorantreiben. Genau das werden wir gemeinsam bei der LCOY Austria tun und darauf freue ich mich!

Card image cap
Adriana

Ich bin am Ende meines Studiums in Umwelt- und Bioressourcenmanagement an der BOKU und interessiere mich besonders für Themen der Energie- und Klimapolitik. Mich fasziniert, wie Menschen auf der ganzen Welt auf den Klimawandel antworten und welches Potential es in Österreich dazu gibt. Klimawandel ist für mich das dringende Problem und eines, das mir besonders am Herzen liegt. Daher will ich darauf meine Energie aufwenden und bin mit Begeisterung bei der Organisation der Konferenz dabei. Außerdem kann ich ohne Schreiben, Kunst und Sonnenaufgänge in der Natur nicht leben. Wenn ich einmal für einen Moment untertauche, dann bin ich in Stadt und Natur unterwegs oder singe, tanze und lese.

Card image cap
Hendrik

Ich studiere Biologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Ökologie und hoffe, die Komplexität der Welt dadurch ein wenig besser greifen zu lernen. Von früh an war ich sehr viel in der Natur und habe alles um mich herum erforscht. Ich will, dass diejenigen, die nach uns kommen, auch diese Möglichkeit haben! Deshalb besuche ich nebenbei Veranstaltungen zu den Themen Umweltpolitik und -ökonomie und will mich im Umweltbereich engagieren. In der Freizeit bin ich gerne draußen beim Herumturnen, Kraxeln und Schwimmen anzutreffen, und die alternative Lebensmittelbeschaffung und CO2-neutrales Reisen per Daumen stehen auch hoch im Kurs. Wir sind die Generation, die am stärksten vom Klimawandel betroffen sein wird. Aber wir sind auch die Generation, die etwas dagegen tun kann. Findet mit uns heraus wie!

Card image cap
Rebecca

Ich studiere Physik an der Technischen Uni Wien, weil ich verstehen will, warum die Welt so ist wie sie scheint und wie verrückt alles in Wirklichkeit ist! Natur und Menschen begeistern mich, und vor allem das Verständnis dafür, wie Gesellschaften und Menschen denken. Für mich ist die Klimakrise das dringendste, gefährlichste und am schlechtesten kommunizierte Phänomen unserer Zeit und ich bin überzeugt, dass die Lösung dazu in gemeinsamen Aktionen im Kampf für Klimagerechtigkeit in einer sonst gleichmütigen Welt liegt. Wenn du gerade nicht weißt, wo ich bin, dann findest du mich höchstwahrscheinlich in den Bergen beim Wandern, beim Klettern, Slacklinen, Kuscheln mit einem putzigen Tier am Weg oder Tauchen. Ich mache Yoga und meditiere, und glaube hartnäckig an das Potential eines jeden Menschen, wundervoll zu sein!

Card image cap
Katja

Nach meinem Bachelor in Umwelt- und Bioressourcenmanagement an der BOKU habe ich gerade mit dem internationalen Masterstudium in Environmental Science begonnen. Den Schwerpunkt meines Studiums möchte ich auf das Umweltmanagement und die Umweltpolitik setzen um folgenden Generationen das zu ermöglichen, was ich in meiner Kindheit am meisten geliebt habe: die Natur mit allen vier Jahreszeiten zu erleben und zu genießen. Generell möchte ich dazu Beitragen das Problem Klimawandel für alle Menschen verständlich und zugänglich zu machen. Auch jetzt verbringe ich meine Freizeit am liebsten in der Natur, im Sommer beim klettern oder wandern bzw. im Winter beim Ski touren gehen und als Skilehrerin. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass es sehr viele junge, motivierte Menschen gibt, die darauf brennen etwas verändern zu können. Es liegt an uns die Zukunft zu verändern!