What is an LCOY?

An LCOY is an event by YOUNGO, the official youth constituency at the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). It represents a national version of the Conference of Youth (COY), which takes place immediately before the Conference of Parties (COP), the annual UN-Climate Conference. This year, there will be around 19 LCOYs in the whole world and we find it important to organise one in Vienna, too. Too many acronyms for you to grasp? Then just read on and find out more!

Why an LCOY?

Change never comes by itself, that is why we want to start it with an LCOY. This kind of conference creates a common platform for youth engaged in working on sustainable and creative strategies for climate politics, and those who want to get engaged. an LCOY can be structured in different ways: at its core there are always youth and opportunities for exchange between many stakeholders.

Does Austria need an LCOY?

Every location does: we need to be conscious as a generation that the ecological crisis we are facing is the human challenge of our time, and this time we have is decisive. To tackle it we need more ambition in climate politics and we have to engage as a generation, working together on all fronts. This is what we want to develop in Austria, empowering youth to simulate their own negotiations, to form their own plans, project, ideas and share their experience, the final output as well as the media attention will spread the message. Since the climate crisis is a very central topic and there are already many best practice examples as well as alternative and sustainable solutions to polluting processes, this is for youth to send a signal: climate is our concern and responsibility, we want to get active.

LCOYs worldwide

There will be 19 LCOYs taking place all around the world (hoping to inspire more for next year!). On this site you can find information on all of them, as well as the Global COY in Katowice: https://conference-of-youth.org/en/home/

Was ist eine LCOY?

Eine LCOY ist eine Veranstaltung der YOUNGO, der offiziellen Jugendvertretung der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen(United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC). Sie stellt eine nationale Version der Conference of Youth (COY) dar, welche unmittelbar vor der Conference of Parties (COP), der jährlichen UN-Klimakonferenz, stattfindet. Dieses Jahr wird es rund 19 LCOYs weltweit geben und wir finden es wichtig, auch in Wien eine zu veranstalten. Zu viele Abkürzungen? Dann lies weiter und finde heraus, was dahinter steckt!

Warum eine LCOY?

Ein Wandel kommt bekanntlich nie von selbst, deshalb wollen wir ihn mit der LCOY anstoßen. Eine LCOY schafft eine einzigartige regionale oder nationale Plattform für Jugend, die Klimapolitik nachhaltig und kreativ formen will. Eine LCOY kann unterschiedlich organisiert sein, stellt aber jedenfalls die Jugend in den Mittelpunkt und bietet gleichzeitig eine Möglichkeit des Austausches zwischen mehr Akteuren.

Brauchen wir in Österreich denn überhaupt eine LCOY?

Eine LCOY wird überall gebraucht. Wir müssen uns als Generation bewusst sein, dass die ökologische Krise die große Herausforderung unserer Zeit ist, und diese Zeit ist entscheidend. Um sie anzugehen, brauchen wir mehr Ambition in der Klimapolitik und müssen uns als Generation engagieren in gemeinsamer Arbeit auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen. Um rechtzeitig gegen den Klimawandel vorzugehen brauchen wir mehr Ambition in der Klimapolitik, und zwar in verschiedenen Bereichen. Eben diesen Anstoß wollen wir dadurch liefern, dass wir Jugend durch die Teilnahme an der LCOY zu eigenen Handlungen ermächtigen und durch Output sowie Medienarbeit die Aussagen der Konferenz weitertragen. Es gibt nämlich schon Lösungsmöglichkeiten und Vorzeigebeispiele, jetzt geht es darum, als Jugend zu signalisieren: uns geht Klima etwas an, wir fordern Veränderung und wir sind bereit, selbst aktiv zu werden.

LCOYs weltweit

Es werden 19 weitere LCOYs auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden (und wir hoffen, weitere für nächstes Jahr zu inspirieren!). Auf dieser Webseite kannst du Informationen zu allen LCOYs sowie der Global COY in Katowice abrufen: https://conference-of-youth.org/en/home/